top of page

Help from the breeder...

When you purchase a horse chances are you never saw them as a baby. You get this awesome little horse and wonder what they were like when they were little, romping around in a field of daisies with their momma. Sometimes the pervious owner may have some photos and you get to see them. Other times you don't know their past and have to guess and research to find anything out on them. That is what happened in the case of OTM Audi Gold (Jenn's Bellaboo).

We purchased her in January for participation in the 2015 RRP Thoroughbred Makeover. Brittany will train Audi up the levels of eventing and, as anyone who buys a new horse, hopes to take them to the top. She is learning quickly.

One thing I like to do is reseach bloodlines and records and learn all I can about the horse I have bought. So lately, I have been researching Audi and her 6 years on this planet. She doesn't have a very impressive racing record. She was sold twice as a 2 year old at the OBS Sales in Ocala Florida. I dug around on the OBS Sales pages and found two of her sale videos. To me she looked like a quick little girl! You be the judge.....

She raced 9 times, 6 at Tampa Downs, 2 at Finger Lakes and 1 at Suffolk Downs. Most of which she was close to last if not last. Words used in descriptions of her racing, no menace, poor speed....well we love her anyways!

I looked up her pedigree and any info on her parents. I found that Act of Duty was sold to someone in Saudi Arabia. Her dam was born in 1982 making her 27 when she gave birth to Audi. Her sire was a stocky chestnut stallion and her dam was a very nice looking grey mare.

So, I decided to research the breeder. I found they aren't to far from where Brittany and Audi are living now! They had an email even though thier website is under construction. I sent a nice email requesting any information on Audi and her dam and any photos they may have and wouldn't mind sharing. To my surprise I was rewarded with several photos of Audi only a couple days old! What a delight to see her as a baby! What a cutie pie she was!

A photo gallery of Audi's lineage was fun to look at! She had some really nice looking horses in her pedigree.

This isn't the only time I have gone to a breeder and connected with them. When we purchased Diva I emailed her breeder and they also gave me some info on her, her dam and her sire. They were happy to know what she was doing and where she was. So, remember if you purchase a horse, it takes a little digging and research and you can really find out a lot about your horse!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page